Achievement in the Future: Don’t Base the Future off the Now

“Don’t look at expensive cars. Just look at what you can afford, or it’ll just frustrate you.”

I’ll never forget my dad saying these words to me – or the feeling of frustration I got only after hearing them said.
We live in a world where worth is determined by dollar signs. But, for many people, the almighty dollar is not what they want to focus on – and for those who don’t share that view, it will be hard for you to understand the rest of my post today.
Before my father walked in and said that, I had been car shopping and looking online at a very expensive, very gorgeous Lotus Evora. The day before, I had been looking at the 2014 Scion FR-S in matte black. I, however, am a young, first-time driver who has a budget of only about 11,000 – 15,000 dollars for my first official car, and will probably be driving a pre-owned vehicle. But when I was looking at those cars (despite, obviously, knowing they were out of my price range) I felt awesome! Why? Because they were something to strive for one day. I think that’s something that a lot of older people (cough, cough, parents, sorry to say) lack – the realization that kids usually KNOW what they can and can’t do now, but are willing to look at it now, strive, and get it later.
So my point here is: What is the point of discouraging someone by telling them not to look higher? WHY would a parent tell their child, essentially: “Don’t look at those things, honey. Only better, richer, luckier people can afford that. You never will have it, don’t get your hopes up.”

Leave a Reply

